IFR Long EZ wanted!

Author Topic: IFR Long EZ wanted!  (Read 8389 times)

Offline jetdude007

• View Profile
IFR Long EZ wanted!
« on: September 18, 2009, 04:33:28 PM »
I live in Vista (North County San Diego) and I want to buy a flying IFR long ez. I currently own a '68 PA 28 140 but have outgrown it. I am new to homebuilt aircraft and want to find out as much as I can about them before I take the plunge. What are some of the common problems people have? Is it hard to get support for Long ez maintenance and parts? I'm 5'11 and 190lbs, will I be too big to be comfortable? What about 2 peolple, is there room for some luggage? There is a long ez for sale in SD (N93DJ) does anyone know anything about it? I'm sure it's a great airplane, but I know nothing about building or maintaining a Long ez. Can they be safely parked outside at a tiedown for years without serious weather damage? Thanks for all your help! I look forward to being a Long ez driver! Does anyone want to trade a IFR Long ez for a great little IFR Cherokee? :)

Offline Stuart

• View Profile
Re: IFR Long EZ wanted!
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2009, 07:42:40 PM »
Never be sure any plane is a great plane that you know nothing about, if there are 1000 Long EZ's out there, then they were all produced by 1000 different manufactures. THe Long is a great Aircraft, but you need to be smart about what you are looking for.... Baggage pods are available to increase your available luggage space.

Stuart

Offline flyingwaldo

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2009, 08:05:06 PM »
Fly your spam can to Lone Pine October 16, 17, 18 to meet some canard folks and do some of the due diligence that will help you make the right decisions.  Join the CSA and get a few back issues right away.  And check out canardfinders.com

Offline JLKnolla

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2009, 08:58:16 AM »